About Us

UW CIPE Committees & Taskforces

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Committees

In line with its 2019-2024 Strategic Directions, the UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE) has (re)structured its Committees to provide the Center with strategic guidance, support and consultation in achieving its vision, mission, and priorities. The UW CIPE Committees also demonstrate the Center’s commitment to engage and collaborate with all stakeholders, and to ensure inclusive and shared governance.

UW CIPE Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides leadership for the Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) at University of Wisconsin-Madison and beyond. The Committee’s role is to provide support, guidance and oversight of UW CIPE’s progress towards achieving the UW CIPE Strategic Directions.

Steering Committee Membership

The Steering Committee includes members from all health/social programs, schools, community at large, and clinical partners as listed below:

Barb Anderson UW ICEP Chair barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Shobhina Chheda SMPH – Associate Dean for Medical Education sgc@medicine.wisc.edu
Melgardt De Villiers SoP – Vice Dean and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu
Karen Kopacek (Alternate) SoP – Associate Dean for Student Affairs karen.kopacek@wisc.edu
Barbara Duerst SMPH – Faculty Associate barbara.duerst@wisc.edu
Richard Barajas Health Science Schools Diversity Officers Representative barajas@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland Director, Occupational Therapy Program sgartland@wisc.edu
Michele Glynn Director, Education & Development for Nursing & Patient Care Services, University Hospital mglynn@uwhealth.org
Michelle Gotteiner IPHC President gotteiner@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili (Chair) UW CIPE Director hkhalili@wisc.edu
Elizabeth Petty SMPH – Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs epetty@wisc.edu
Barbara Pinekenstein SoN – Associate Dean for Academic Affairs pinekenstein@wisc.edu
Katie Bleier (Alternate) SoN – Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs katie.bleier@wisc.edu
Laurie Pirtle SoN Simulation Coordinator lpirtle@wisc.edu
George Quinn WCMEW Executive Director gquinn@wcmew.org
Catherine Reiser Director, Genetic Counselor Training Program reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE Associate Director rrusch@wisc.edu
Peggy Schmidt SVM – Associate Dean for Professional Programs peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
Virginia Snyder Director, Physician Assistant Program vsnyder@wisc.edu
Kevin Wyne (Alternate) Physician Assistant Program kwyne@wisc.edu
Lisa Steinkamp Director, Physical Therapy Program steinkamp@pt.wisc.edu
Ryan Thompson Medical Director, UW Health Clinical Simulation Program rthompson@medicine.wisc.edu

UW CIPE Advisory Council

The Advisory Council’s role, as a strategic advisory and consulting body, is to provide strategic guidance and consultation to UW CIPE in achieving its mission:

To work collaboratively locally, nationally and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quadruple Aim: better health, better care, better value, and better work experience.

Advisory Council Membership

The Advisory Council members represent the community at large and UW Centers/Programs across campus:

Competency Modules Oversight Committee

The UW CIPE Interprofessional Competency Module Program Oversight Committee, or CIPE Module Oversight Committee for short, provides the UW CIPE with a macro level perspective on the improvement, expansion, and integration of the Competency Modules across the health/social sciences programs.

Current Committee Membership:

  • Lacey Alexander – School of Nursing
  • Susie Barnett/Casey Gallimore (alt) – School of Pharmacy
  • Nina Berge – UW CIPE
  • Audrey Conn – School of Social Work
  • Mel Freitag – School of Nursing
  • Sharon Gartland – Occupational Therapy Program
  • Jeff Hartman – Physical Therapy Program
  • Lisa Imhoff – School of Pharmacy
  • Tarakee Jackson – Public Health Program
  • Hossein Khalili – UW CIPE
  • Corissa Lotta – Counseling Psychology
  • Roberta Rusch – UW CIPE
  • Kevin Wyne – Physician Assistant Program

UW CIPE Education Sub-Committee

The Education Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Education Strategic Priority Area.

Current Education Sub-Committee Membership:

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Meghan Cotter SMPH – MD mmcotter@wisc.edu
Bethany Howlett WisCARES Bethany.Howlett@uwmf.wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Ashely Kuhl SMPH – Genetic Counseling aekuhl@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland (Alternate) SMPH – Genetic Counseling lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Jill Niemczyk WI AHEC jilln@newahec.org
Kate Rotzenberg School of Pharmacy katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Chinh Kieu Thuy PharmD. Candidate, Class of 2023 ckieu@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW–Madison Teaching Academy wenker@pt.wisc.edu
Nicholas Zacharias M.D. Candidate, Class of 2023 nazacharias@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Scholarship Sub-Committee

The Scholarship Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Scholarship Strategic Priority Area.

Current Scholarship Sub-Committee Membership:

Susanne Barnett SoP susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Beth Fields Occupational Therapy (OT) befields2@wisc.edu
Casey Gallimore SoP casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
April Hall SMPH – Genetic Counseling alhall2@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland (1st Alternate) lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Catherine A. Reiser (2nd Alternate) reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Jeff Hartman SMPH – Physical Therapy (PT) jahartman@pt.wisc.edu
Jamie Hess SMPH – MD jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
Amy Stickford Becker (Alternate) aebecker@wisc.edu
Tarakee Jackson SMPH – MPH Program tmjackson2@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Brittney Moore DVM Candidate – 2023 bnmoore2@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Student Sub-Committee

The Student Sub-Committee is the most recently established Sub-Committee and started meeting in November 2020, with representation from the UW IPE-related student organizations. The Student Sub-Committee members are identified and invited by UW CIPE in collaboration with UW IPE-related student organizations. The members should be part of the Executive/Board Members of their student organizations.

The Student Sub-Committee will act as:

  • An advisory student group to provide the UW CIPE with guidance on its programs and initiatives.
  • A liaison group among UW IPE-related student organizations to help coordinate student-led IPE activities at UW–Madison, and to support the planning, implementation and evaluation of UW CIPE programs and initiatives.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Taskforces

The UW CIPE Taskforces are created to assist the UW CIPE and its Committees with the development and implementation of new IPE programs/initiatives/opportunities at UW-Madison and its partners.

UW CIPE Professional Development (PD) Advisory Board and Taskforce

The IPE PD Advisory Board and Taskforce are working closely with each other to develop and deliver IPE PD opportunities for faculty, academic staff, professional/grad students, practitioners, facilitators, and preceptors as part of the UW CIPE Teaching and Facilitation Badge Program.

The goal of the UW CIPE Teaching and Facilitation Badge Program is to help build and advance the knowledge, skill, norms, behaviors, and ability of faculty, instructors, preceptors, and facilitators to develop, teach, and facilitate intentional, engaging, meaningful, and effective interprofessional education for healthcare professional students.

Taskforce Members:

Barb Anderson UW ICEP barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Eric Buxton School of Pharmacy eric.buxton@wisc.edu
Audrey Conn School of Social Work amconn@wisc.edu
Barbara Duerst SMPH – Public Health Program barbara.duerst@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland Director, Occupational Therapy Program sgartland@wisc.edu
Jeff Hartman SMPH – Physical Therapy (PT) jahartman@pt.wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Catherine Reiser Director, Genetic Counseling Program reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Virginia Snyder Director, Physician Assistant Program vsnyder@wisc.edu
Anne Stahr SMPH stahr2@wisc.edu
Chinh Kieu Thuy PharmD. Candidate, Class of 2023 ckieu@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW–Madison Teaching Academy wenker@pt.wisc.edu
Susan Wiegmann School of Education – Department of Rehabilitation, Psychology and Special Education wiegmann@wisc.edu
Susan Zahner School of Nursing sjzahner@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Interprofessional Case Development Taskforce

Upon a request from the Wisconsin Area Health Education Centers (WI AHEC), the UW CIPE is establishing a taskforce to assist with the development of the cases for the WI AHEC Annual Case Competition. The Taskforce will also assist with the development of a repository of interprofessional case scenarios for UW CIPE Offerings with the assistance of the Education and Scholarship Subcommittees, we have invited representatives from AHEC, Nursing, Medicine, Public Health, Physical Therapy, and Social Work to serve in this Taskforce.

Taskforce Members:

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Jaime Goldberg School of Social Work jhgoldberg@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
David Kiefer SMPH – MD david.kiefer@fammed.wisc.edu
Jill Niemczyk WI AHEC jilln@newahec.org
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce

The UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce is charged with assisting the UW CIPE with the development and delivery of the UW IPE Path of Distinction along with the UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is also in charge of the review and approval of future UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education Subcommittee.

Taskforce Members:

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland SMPH – Genetic Counseling lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Meghan Cotter SMPH – MD mmcotter@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce

The UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce is charged with assisting the UW CIPE with its Mischler Student IPE Scholarship and the Joint Dual IPE Distinguished Fellowship applications and the reviews.  The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education and Scholarship Subcommittees.

Taskforce Members:

Beth Fields Occupational Therapy (OT) Program befields2@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Elaine Mischler Community Representative elaine.mischler@gmail.com
Kate Rotzenberg School of Pharmacy katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker SMPH-PT & Teaching Academy wenker@pt.wisc.edu

UW CIPE Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Taskforce

Purpose and Work

The UW CIPE DEI Taskforce was developed to address racial, ethnic, and gender identities in the UW CIPE Modules and other IPE offerings presented through the Center. The Taskforce will address the needs of our students that may be historically marginalized and/or underrepresented and ensure that there is attention paid to these groups by providing support/resources to promote equity and offer safe spaces. The Taskforce will also work towards ensuring that individuals are being heard and valued, while also paying attention to who is not in the room to make sure their voices are also heard.
The DEI Taskforce will learn what UW-Madison health/social sciences schools and programs are teaching regarding diversity, equity, and inclusion and aim to use similar language and context. Its early work will focus on developing a framework to use for the UW CIPE Competency Modules, that includes community guidelines while integrating the teachings of Cultural Humility to foster student self-awareness.

Taskforce Members

  • Mel Freitag – School of Nursing (DEI Officer)
  • Lisa Imhoff – School of Pharmacy (DEI Officer)
  • Tarakee Jackson – Public Health Program
  • Corissa Lotta – Counseling Psychology
  • Roberta Rusch – UW CIPE

Leadership Team

Hossein Khalili

Credentials: BScN, MScN, PhD, FNAP

Position title: Director

Email: hkhalili@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-6374

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Roberta B. Rusch

Credentials: MPH

Position title: Associate Director

Email: rrusch@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-2639

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Nina Berge

Credentials: BA

Position title: Administrative Assistant

Email: nina.berge@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8017

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall