About Us

Message from the UW CIPE Team

Welcome to the University of Wisconsin–Madison Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education! UW CIPE strives to transform health care through interprofessional practice, education, and research! As our Mission, we work collaboratively locally, nationally, and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quintuple Aim: better population health, better patient care, better value, better provider work experience, and better health equity.

In the past few years, UW CIPE, in collaboration with our program/school partners, have made some significant progress in moving forward the IPE Agenda at UW–Madison. Together, and in line with the UW CIPE 5-year Strategic Directions, we have been successful in building/expanding upon the UW IPE infrastructure towards advancing IPE integration and sustainability at the University. In doing so, a number of campus-wide IPE programs and initiatives have been developed, enhanced, piloted, and implemented, including the UW IPE Path of Distinction (PoD), IPE Badger Program, IPE Healthy Aging Initiative, IPE Competency Modules, IPE Knowledge Exchange Series, Joint Dual IPE Distinguished Fellowship, Mischler IPE Student Scholarship, IPE Systematic Assessment, and Annual Report.

UW CIPE has entered the next phase of the strategic direction and guided education around IPE simulation along with clinical and community experiences. UW CIPE partnered with the Wisconsin Department of Health Services to create, pilot, and offer the Interprofessional Dementia Caregiving Telehealth Badge, holding meetings with people across campus, Wisconsin and even the larger United States.  Strong and close collaboration and partnership with our different programs, schools, and partners will continue to be critical in creating and implementing such an IPE Experiential Learning Framework. We look forward to continuing our collaboration and partnership.

Thank you all for your ongoing support and contribution.

UW CIPE Team

UW CIPE Committees & Taskforces

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Committees

In line with its 2019-2024 Strategic Directions, the UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE) has (re)structured its Committees to provide the Center with strategic guidance, support and consultation in achieving its vision, mission, and priorities. The UW CIPE Committees also demonstrate the Center’s commitment to engage and collaborate with all stakeholders, and to ensure inclusive and shared governance.

UW CIPE Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides leadership for the Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) at University of Wisconsin-Madison and beyond. The Committee’s role is to provide support, guidance and oversight of UW CIPE’s progress towards achieving the UW CIPE Strategic Directions.

Steering Committee Membership

The Steering Committee includes members from all health/social programs, schools, community at large, and clinical partners as listed below:

  • Barb Anderson
    •  UW ICEP Chair
    • barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
  • Richard Barajas
    • Health Science Schools Diversity Officers Representative
    • barajas@wisc.edu
  • Laura Birkeland
    • SMPH – Director, Master of Genetic Counseling Studies Program
    • lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
  • Lisa Bratzke
    • SoN – Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
    • bratzke@wisc.edu
  • Shobhina Chheda
    • SMPH – Associate Dean for Medical Education
    • sgc@medicine.wisc.edu
  • Melgardt de Villiers
    • SoP – Vice Dean and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
    • melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu
  • Karen Kopacek (Alternate)
    • SoP – Associate Dean for Student Affairs
    • karen.kopacek@wisc.edu
  • Sharon Gartland
    • Director, Occupational Therapy Doctorate Program
    • sgartland@wisc.edu
  • Michele Glynn
    •  Director, Education & Development for Nursing & Patient Care Services, University Hospital
    • mglynn@uwhealth.org
  • Kaitlyn Hawley
    • UW CIPE – Academic Program Specialist
    • kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
  • Elizabeth Petty
    • SMPH – Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
    •  epetty@wisc.edu
  • George Quinn
    • WCMEW – Executive Director
    • gquinn@wcmew.org
  • Roberta Rusch
    • UW CIPE – Associate Director
    •  rrusch@wisc.edu
  • Peggy Schmidt
    • SVM – Associate Dean for Professional Programs
    • peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
  • Sweta Shrestha
    • SMPH – Associate Director, Master of Public Health Program
    • sshrestha@wisc.edu
  • Sushant Srinivasan
    • Medical Director, UW Health Clinical Simulation Program
    • srinivasan8@wisc.edu
  • Sue Wenker
    • UW CIPE- Interim Director & SMPH – Director, Physical Therapy Program
    • wenker@pt.wisc.edu
  • Kevin Wyne
    • SMPH – Director of Research and Professional Development,  UW Physician Assistant Program
    • kwyne@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Advisory Council

The Advisory Council’s role, as a strategic advisory and consulting body, is to provide strategic guidance and consultation to UW CIPE in achieving its mission:

To work collaboratively locally, nationally and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quintuple Aim: better population health, better patient care, better value, better provider work experience, and better health equity.

Advisory Council Membership

The Advisory Council members represent the community at large and UW Centers/Programs across campus:

UW CIPE Competency Modules Oversight Committee

The UW CIPE Interprofessional Competency Module Program Oversight Committee, or CIPE Module Oversight Committee for short, provides the UW CIPE with a macro level perspective on the improvement, expansion, and integration of the Competency Modules across the health/social sciences programs.

Current Committee Membership:

  • Lacey Alexander
    • UW School of Nursing
    • lalexander2@wisc.edu
  • Susie Barnett
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
  • Laura Birkeland
    • UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
  • Ruthanne Chun
    • UW School of Veterinary Medicine
    •  ruthanne.chun@wisc.edu
  • Audrey Conn
    • UW School of Social Work
    • amconn@wisc.edu
  • Michael Cropes
    • UW Physical Therapy Program
    • cropes@pt.wisc.edu
  • Theresa Fishler
    • UW School of Social Work
    •  tfishler@wisc.edu
  • Casey Gallimore
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
  • Sharon Gartland
    • UW Occupational Therapy Program
    • sgartland@wisc.edu
  • April Hall
    •  UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • alhall2@wisc.edu
  • Kaitlyn Hawley
    • UW CIPE
    •  kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
  • Jamie Hess
    • UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine
    • jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
  • Lisa Imhoff
    •  UW School of Pharmacy
    • lisa.imhoff@wisc.edu
  • Leah Kechele
    • UW School of Nursing
    • lkechele@wisc.edu
  • Corissa Lotta
    • UW Counseling Psychology Program
    • cclotta@wisc.edu
  • Daniel Rortvedt
    • UW Occupational Therapy Program
    • djrortvedt@wisc.edu
  • Roberta Rusch
    • UW CIPE
    • rrusch@wisc.edu
  • Peggy Schmidt
    • UW School of Veterinary Medicine
    • peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
  • Kevin Wyne
    • UW Physician Assistant Program
    • kwyne@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Education Sub-Committee

The Education Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Education Strategic Priority Area.

Current Education Sub-Committee Membership:

  • Susanne Barnett
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
  • Amy Stickford Becker
    • UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine
    • aebecker@wisc.edu
  • Laura Birkeland
    • UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
  • Ashley Kuhl (Alternate)
    • UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • aekuhl@pediatrics.wisc.edu
  • Beth Fields
    • UW Occupational Therapy Program
    • befields2@wisc.edu
  • Casey Gallimore
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
  • April Hall
    • UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • alhall2@wisc.edu
  • Kaitlyn Hawley
    • UW CIPE
    • kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
  • Jamie Hess
    • UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine
    • jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
  • Bethany Howlett
    • WisCARES & UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine
    • bethany.howlett@uwmf.wisc.edu
  • Kari Mueller
    • Wisconsin Area Health Education Centers (WI AHEC)
    • karim@newahec.org
  • Daniel Rortvedt
    • UW Occupational Therapy Program
    • djrortvedt@wisc.edu
  • Kate Rotzenberg
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
  • Roberta Rusch
    •  UW CIPE
    • rrusch@wisc.edu
  • Sue Wenker
    • UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    •  wenker@pt.wisc.edu
  • Andrew Wentland
    • UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine
    •  alwentland@wisc.edu

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Taskforces

The UW CIPE Taskforces have been created to assist UW CIPE and its Committees with the development and implementation of new IPE programs/initiatives/opportunities at UW-Madison and its partners.

UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce

The UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce is charged with assisting UW CIPE with the development and delivery of the UW IPE Path of Distinction along with the UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is also in charge of the review and approval of future UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education Subcommittee.

Taskforce Members:

  • Laura Birkeland
    • UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies
    • lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
  • Kaitlyn Hawley
    • UW CIPE
    •  kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
  • Roberta Rusch
    • UW CIPE
    •  rrusch@wisc.edu
  • Sue Wenker
    • UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    •  wenker@pt.wisc.edu

UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce

The UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce is charged with assisting UW CIPE with its Mischler Student IPE Scholarship and the Joint Dual IPE Distinguished Fellowship applications and the reviews.  The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education and Scholarship Subcommittees.

Taskforce Members:

  • Beth Fields
    • UW Occupational Therapy Program
    • befields2@wisc.edu
  • Kaitlyn Hawley
    • UW CIPE
    • kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
  • Elaine Mischler
    • Community Representative
    •  elaine.mischler@gmail.com
  • Kate Rotzenberg
    • UW School of Pharmacy
    • katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
  • Roberta Rusch
    • UW CIPE
    • rrusch@wisc.edu
  • Sue Wenker
    • UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program
    •  wenker@pt.wisc.edu
UW CIPE Structure. Top Level 1- Health Sciences Leadership Council (HSLC). Level 2- UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE). Level 3 Steering Committee and Advisory Council. Level 4 under Steering Committee Competency Oversight Committee and Education Subcommittee. Level 5 under Education Subcommittee- IPE Badger and Path of Distinction Taskforce and IPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce. Image also includes UW CIPE Logo

UW CIPE Team

Sue Wenker

Credentials: PT, PhD, MS, FNAP

Position title: Interim UW CIPE Director; Co-Coordinator, UW IPE Healthy Aging Initiative

Email: wenker@pt.wisc.edu

Roberta B. Rusch

Credentials: MPH

Position title: Associate Director

Email: rrusch@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-2639

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Kaitlyn Hawley

Credentials: B. Ed

Position title: Academic Program Specialist

Email: kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-7676

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Anna Lemke

Credentials: BA

Position title: Student Staff

Email: aelemke2@wisc.edu

Jiawei Zou

Credentials: BA/BS

Position title: Student Data Analysist

Email: jzou43@wisc.edu