About Us

UW CIPE Committees & Taskforces

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Committees

In line with its 2019-2024 Strategic Directions, the UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE) has (re)structured its Committees to provide the Center with strategic guidance, support and consultation in achieving its vision, mission, and priorities. The UW CIPE Committees also demonstrate the Center’s commitment to engage and collaborate with all stakeholders, and to ensure inclusive and shared governance.

UW CIPE Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides leadership for the Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) at University of Wisconsin-Madison and beyond. The Committee’s role is to provide support, guidance and oversight of UW CIPE’s progress towards achieving the UW CIPE Strategic Directions.

Steering Committee Membership

The Steering Committee includes members from all health/social programs, schools, community at large, and clinical partners as listed below:

Barb Anderson UW ICEP Chair barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Shobhina Chheda SMPH – Associate Dean for Medical Education sgc@medicine.wisc.edu
Melgardt De Villiers SoP – Vice Dean and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu
Karen Kopacek (Alternate) SoP – Associate Dean for Student Affairs karen.kopacek@wisc.edu
Barbara Duerst SMPH – Faculty Associate barbara.duerst@wisc.edu
Mel Freitag Health Science Schools Diversity Officers Representative mbfreitag@wisc.edu
Lisa Imhoff (Alternate) lisa.imhoff@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland Director, Occupational Therapy Program sgartland@wisc.edu
Michele Glynn Director, Education & Development for Nursing & Patient Care Services, University Hospital mglynn@uwhealth.org
Erica Keenan IPHC President emkeenan@wisc.edu
Clayton Skogman Elected IPHC President cskogman@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili (Chair) UW CIPE Director hkhalili@wisc.edu
Elizabeth Petty SMPH – Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs epetty@wisc.edu
Barbara Pinekenstein SoN – Associate Dean for Academic Affairs pinekenstein@wisc.edu
Katie Bleier (Alternate) SoN – Assistant Dean for Academic Affairs katie.bleier@wisc.edu
Laurie Pirtle SoN Simulation Coordinator lpirtle@wisc.edu
George Quinn WCMEW Executive Director gquinn@wcmew.org
Catherine Reiser Director, Genetic Counselor Training Program reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE Associate Director rrusch@wisc.edu
Peggy Schmidt SVM – Associate Dean for Professional Programs peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
Virginia Snyder Director, Physician Assistant Program vsnyder@wisc.edu
Kevin Wyne (Alternate) Physician Assistant Program kwyne@wisc.edu
Lisa Steinkamp Director, Physical Therapy Program steinkamp@pt.wisc.edu
Ryan Thompson Medical Director, UW Health Clinical Simulation Program rthompson@medicine.wisc.edu

UW CIPE Advisory Council

The Advisory Council’s role, as a strategic advisory and consulting body, is to provide strategic guidance and consultation to UW CIPE in achieving its mission:

To work collaboratively locally, nationally and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quadruple Aim: better health, better care, better value, and better work experience.

Advisory Council Membership

The Advisory Council members represent the community at large and UW Centers/Programs across campus:

UW CIPE Education Sub-Committee

The Education Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Education Strategic Priority Area.

2019-2020 Education Sub-Committee Membership

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Meghan Cotter SMPH – MD mmcotter@wisc.edu
Bethany Howlett WisCARES Bethany.Howlett@uwmf.wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Ashely Kuhl SMPH – Genetic Counseling aekuhl@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland (Alternate) SMPH – Genetic Counseling lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Jill Niemczyk WI AHEC jilln@newahec.org
Kate Rotzenberg School of Pharmacy katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Chinh Kieu Thuy PharmD. Candidate, Class of 2023 ckieu@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW–Madison Teaching Academy wenker@pt.wisc.edu
Nicholas Zacharias M.D. Candidate, Class of 2023 nazacharias@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Scholarship Sub-Committee

The Scholarship Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Scholarship Strategic Priority Area.

2019-2020 Scholarship Sub-Committee Membership

Susanne Barnett SoP susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Beth Fields Occupational Therapy (OT) befields2@wisc.edu
Casey Gallimore SoP casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
April Hall SMPH – Genetic Counseling alhall2@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland (1st Alternate) lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Catherine A. Reiser (2nd Alternate) reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Jeff Hartman SMPH – Physical Therapy (PT) jahartman@pt.wisc.edu
Jamie Hess SMPH – MD jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
Amy Stickford Becker (Alternate) aebecker@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Shannon Mcenroe SLP MS Student – 2021 smcenroe@wisc.edu
Brittney Moore DVM Candidate – 2023 bnmoore2@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Taskforces

UW IPE Professional Development Taskforce

To assist with UW IPE teaching/facilitation capacity building, and in line with the UW CIPE 2019-2024 Strategic Directions, the UW IPE PD Taskforce is established to assist with the development,  implementation, and integration of the UW IPE Teaching and Facilitation Badge Certificate Program.

The UW IPE PD Taskforce, as an advisory group, is tasked to provide the UW CIPE with guidance and feedback into the development of the IPE teaching and facilitation badge certificate program during 2020-2021. The certificate program, when completed, will provide opportunities for faculty, academic staff, graduate students, and community partners to learn and advance their IPE teaching/facilitation knowledge, skills and competency.

Barb Anderson UW ICEP barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
Nina Berge UW CIPE nina.berge@wisc.edu
Eric Buxton School of Pharmacy eric.buxton@wisc.edu
Audrey Conn School of Social Work amconn@wisc.edu
Barbara Duerst SMPH – Public Health Program barbara.duerst@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland Director, Occupational Therapy Program sgartland@wisc.edu
Jeff Hartman SMPH – Physical Therapy (PT) jahartman@pt.wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Catherine Reiser Director, Genetic Counseling Program reiser@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Virginia Snyder Director, Physician Assistant Program vsnyder@wisc.edu
Anne Stahr SMPH stahr2@wisc.edu
Chinh Kieu Thuy PharmD. Candidate, Class of 2023 ckieu@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW–Madison Teaching Academy wenker@pt.wisc.edu
Susan Wiegmann School of Education – Department of Rehabilitation, Psychology and Special Education wiegmann@wisc.edu
Susan Zahner School of Nursing sjzahner@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Interprofessional Case Development Taskforce

Upon a request from the Wisconsin Area Health Education Centers (WI AHEC), the UW CIPE is establishing a taskforce to assist with the development of the cases for the WI AHEC Annual Case Competition. The Taskforce will also assist with the development of a repository of interprofessional case scenarios for UW CIPE Offerings with the assistance of the Education and Scholarship Subcommittees, we have invited representatives from AHEC, Nursing, Medicine, Public Health, Physical Therapy, and Social Work to serve in this Taskforce.

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Jaime Goldberg School of Social Work jhgoldberg@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
David Kiefer SMPH – MD david.kiefer@fammed.wisc.edu
Jill Niemczyk WI AHEC jilln@newahec.org
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

UW CIPE Badger Taskforce

The UW CIPE Badger Taskforce, as the Education Subcommittee taskforce, is currently assisting UW CIPE with the development of the IPE Badge Criteria. The Taskforce will assist with the review and approval of future UW IPE Badges.

Laura Birkeland SMPH – Genetic Counseling lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Meghan Cotter SMPH – MD mmcotter@wisc.edu
Bethany Howlett WisCARES bethany.Howlett@uwmf.wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Nicholas Zacharias M.D. Candidate, Class of 2023 nazacharias@wisc.edu

UW IPE Path of Distinction Taskforce

The IPE Path of Destinction (PoD) Taskforce, as the Education Subcommittee taskforce, is currently charged with assisting UW CIPE with the development of UW IPE Paths of Distinction proposal which will be presented to the UW CIPE Steering Committee and the program/school partners for approval. The Taskforce will assist with the approval and the implementation of UW IPE Paths of Distinction.

Kate Beardmore SMPH – Public Health kbeardmore@wisc.edu
Meghan Cotter SMPH – MD mmcotter@wisc.edu
Hossein Khalili UW CIPE hkhalili@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu

Leadership Team

Hossein Khalili

Credentials: BScN, MScN, PhD, FNAP

Position title: Director

Email: hkhalili@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-6374

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Roberta B. Rusch

Credentials: MPH

Position title: Associate Director

Email: rrusch@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-0566

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Nina Berge

Credentials: BA

Position title: Administrative Assistant

Email: nina.berge@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8017

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall