About Us

Message from the UW CIPE Team

Welcome to the University of Wisconsin–Madison Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education! UW CIPE strives to transform health care through interprofessional practice, education, and research! As our Mission, we work collaboratively locally, nationally, and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quintuple Aim: better population health, better patient care, better value, better provider work experience, and better health equity.

In the past few years, UW CIPE, in collaboration with our program/school partners, have made some significant progress in moving forward the IPE Agenda at UW–Madison. Together, and in line with the UW CIPE 5-year Strategic Directions, we have been successful in building/expanding upon the UW IPE infrastructure towards advancing IPE integration and sustainability at the University. In doing so, a number of campus-wide IPE programs and initiatives have been developed, enhanced, piloted, and implemented, including the UW IPE Path of Distinction (PoD), IPE Badger Program, IPE Healthy Aging Initiative, IPE Competency Modules, IPE Knowledge Exchange Series, Joint Dual IPE Distinguished Fellowship, Mischler IPE Student Scholarship, IPE Systematic Assessment, and Annual Report.

UW CIPE has entered the next phase of the strategic direction and guided education around IPE simulation along with clinical and community experiences. UW CIPE partnered with the Wisconsin Department of Health Services to create, pilot, and offer the Interprofessional Dementia Caregiving Telehealth Badge, holding meetings with people across campus, Wisconsin and even the larger United States.  Strong and close collaboration and partnership with our different programs, schools, and partners will continue to be critical in creating and implementing such an IPE Experiential Learning Framework. We look forward to continuing our collaboration and partnership.

Thank you all for your ongoing support and contribution.

UW CIPE Team

UW CIPE Committees & Taskforces

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Committees

In line with its 2019-2024 Strategic Directions, the UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE) has (re)structured its Committees to provide the Center with strategic guidance, support and consultation in achieving its vision, mission, and priorities. The UW CIPE Committees also demonstrate the Center’s commitment to engage and collaborate with all stakeholders, and to ensure inclusive and shared governance.

UW CIPE Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides leadership for the Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) at University of Wisconsin-Madison and beyond. The Committee’s role is to provide support, guidance and oversight of UW CIPE’s progress towards achieving the UW CIPE Strategic Directions.

Steering Committee Membership

The Steering Committee includes members from all health/social programs, schools, community at large, and clinical partners as listed below:

Barb Anderson UW ICEP Chair barbara.anderson@wisc.edu
Richard Barajas Health Science Schools Diversity Officers Representative barajas@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland SMPH – Director, Master of Genetic Counseling Studies Program lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Lisa Bratzke SoN – Associate Dean for Academic Affairs bratzke@wisc.edu
Shobhina Chheda SMPH – Associate Dean for Medical Education sgc@medicine.wisc.edu
Melgardt de Villiers SoP – Vice Dean and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs melgardt.devilliers@wisc.edu
Karen Kopacek (Alternate) SoP – Associate Dean for Student Affairs karen.kopacek@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland Director, Occupational Therapy Doctorate Program sgartland@wisc.edu
Michele Glynn Director, Education & Development for Nursing & Patient Care Services, University Hospital mglynn@uwhealth.org
Kaitlyn Hawley UW CIPE – Academic Program Specialist kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
Elizabeth Petty SMPH – Senior Associate Dean, Academic Affairs epetty@wisc.edu
Laurie Pirtle SoN – Simulation Coordinator lpirtle@wisc.edu
George Quinn WCMEW – Executive Director gquinn@wcmew.org
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE – Associate Director rrusch@wisc.edu
Peggy Schmidt SVM – Associate Dean for Professional Programs peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
Sweta Shrestha SMPH – Associate Director, Master of Public Health Program sshrestha@wisc.edu
Virginia Snyder SMPH – Director, UW Physician Assistant Program vsnyder@wisc.edu
Kevin Wyne (Alternate) SMPH – Director of Research and Professional Development,  UW Physician Assistant Program kwyne@wisc.edu
Sushant Srinivasan Medical Director, UW Health Clinical Simulation Program srinivasan8@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW CIPE- Interim Director & SMPH – Director, Physical Therapy Program wenker@pt.wisc.edu

 

UW CIPE Advisory Council

The Advisory Council’s role, as a strategic advisory and consulting body, is to provide strategic guidance and consultation to UW CIPE in achieving its mission:

To work collaboratively locally, nationally and globally to champion, integrate, and advance Interprofessional Practice and Education (IPE) to achieve the Quintuple Aim: better population health, better patient care, better value, better provider work experience, and better health equity.

Advisory Council Membership

The Advisory Council members represent the community at large and UW Centers/Programs across campus:

UW CIPE Competency Modules Oversight Committee

The UW CIPE Interprofessional Competency Module Program Oversight Committee, or CIPE Module Oversight Committee for short, provides the UW CIPE with a macro level perspective on the improvement, expansion, and integration of the Competency Modules across the health/social sciences programs.

Current Committee Membership:

Lacey Alexander UW School of Nursing lalexander2@wisc.edu
Susie Barnett UW School of Pharmacy susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Ruthanne Chun UW School of Veterinary Medicine ruthanne.chun@wisc.edu
Audrey Conn UW School of Social Work amconn@wisc.edu
Michael Cropes UW Physical Therapy Program cropes@pt.wisc.edu
Theresa Fishler UW School of Social Work tfishler@wisc.edu
Casey Gallimore UW School of Pharmacy casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
Sharon Gartland UW Occupational Therapy Program sgartland@wisc.edu
April Hall UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies alhall2@wisc.edu
Kaitlyn Hawley UW CIPE kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
Jamie Hess UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
Lisa Imhoff UW School of Pharmacy lisa.imhoff@wisc.edu
Leah Kechele UW School of Nursing lkechele@wisc.edu
Corissa Lotta UW Counseling Psychology Program cclotta@wisc.edu
Daniel Rortvedt UW Occupational Therapy Program djrortvedt@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Peggy Schmidt UW School of Veterinary Medicine peggy.schmidt@wisc.edu
Kevin Wyne UW Physician Assistant Program kwyne@wisc.edu

 

UW CIPE Education Sub-Committee

The Education Sub-Committee provides guidance and support to, and assist the UW CIPE and its Steering Committee in achieving the new UW CIPE Strategic Directions with a focus on the Education Strategic Priority Area.

Current Education Sub-Committee Membership:

Susanne Barnett UW School of Pharmacy susanne.barnett@wisc.edu
Amy Stickford Becker UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine aebecker@wisc.edu
Laura Birkeland

Ashley Kuhl (Alternate)

UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies  lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Beth Fields UW Occupational Therapy Program befields2@wisc.edu
Casey Gallimore UW School of Pharmacy casey.gallimore@wisc.edu
April Hall UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies  alhall2@wisc.edu
Jeff Hartman UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program jahartman@pt.wisc.edu
Kaitlyn Hawley  UW CIPE kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
Jamie Hess UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine jmhess@medicine.wisc.edu
Bethany Howlett WisCARES & UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine Bethany.Howlett@uwmf.wisc.edu
Kari Mueller Wisconsin Area Health Education Centers (WI AHEC) jilln@newahec.org
Daniel Rortvedt UW Occupational Therapy Program djrortvedt@wisc.edu
Kate Rotzenberg UW School of Pharmacy katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Kelsie Tingle UW PharmD & UW IPE PoD Candidate 2025 ktingle@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program wenker@pt.wisc.edu
Andrew Wentland UW School of Medicine and Public Health- Medicine alwentland@wisc.edu
Nicholas Zacharias UW SMPH MD Candidate 2023 nazacharias@wisc.edu

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Overview of UW CIPE's Taskforces

The UW CIPE Taskforces have been created to assist UW CIPE and its Committees with the development and implementation of new IPE programs/initiatives/opportunities at UW-Madison and its partners.

UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce

The UW CIPE Badger and Path of Distinction (PoD) Taskforce is charged with assisting UW CIPE with the development and delivery of the UW IPE Path of Distinction along with the UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is also in charge of the review and approval of future UW IPE Badges. The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education Subcommittee.

Taskforce Members:

Laura Birkeland UW Master of Genetic Counseling Studies lebirkeland@pediatrics.wisc.edu
Kaitlyn Hawley UW CIPE kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker  UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program wenker@pt.wisc.edu

UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce

The UW CIPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce is charged with assisting UW CIPE with its Mischler Student IPE Scholarship and the Joint Dual IPE Distinguished Fellowship applications and the reviews.  The Taskforce is reporting to the UW CIPE Education and Scholarship Subcommittees.

Taskforce Members:

Beth Fields UW Occupational Therapy Program befields2@wisc.edu
Kaitlyn Hawley UW CIPE kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu
Elaine Mischler Community Representative elaine.mischler@gmail.com
Kate Rotzenberg UW School of Pharmacy katherine.rotzenberg@wisc.edu
Roberta Rusch UW CIPE rrusch@wisc.edu
Sue Wenker  UW CIPE & UW Doctor of Physical Therapy Program wenker@pt.wisc.edu
UW CIPE Structure. Top Level 1- Health Sciences Leadership Council (HSLC). Level 2- UW Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education (UW CIPE). Level 3 Steering Committee and Advisory Council. Level 4 under Steering Committee Competency Oversight Committee and Education Subcommittee. Level 5 under Education Subcommittee- IPE Badger and Path of Distinction Taskforce and IPE Awards and Fellowship Taskforce. Image also includes UW CIPE Logo

UW CIPE Team

Sue Wenker

Credentials: PT, PhD, MS, FNAP

Position title: Interim UW CIPE Director; Co-Coordinator, UW IPE Healthy Aging Initiative

Email: wenker@pt.wisc.edu

Roberta B. Rusch

Credentials: MPH

Position title: Associate Director

Email: rrusch@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-2639

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Kaitlyn Hawley

Credentials: B. Ed

Position title: Academic Program Specialist

Email: kaitlyn.hawley@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-7676

Address:
3149 Signe Skott Cooper Hall

Anna Lemke

Credentials: BA

Position title: Student Staff

Email: aelemke2@wisc.edu

Jiawei Zou

Credentials: BA/BS

Position title: Student Data Analysist

Email: jzou43@wisc.edu